What is the exam pattern of NTSE?

National Talent Search Examination (NTSE) is a national level scholarship exam conducted in India. The program is designed to identify and recognize students with high academic talent and intellect. NTSE is one of the most distinguishing exams in India. In this scholarship exam over 500,000 students of which a large part are a self-selective group of students.Every year 1000 scholarships are awarded, of which 775 are unreserved. The scheme is strictly for students of Indian nationality only. The exam pattern of NTSE is set by the National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT). The objective type of test is to be given on a paper-pencil based format or OMR sheet.

The states are empowered with complete autonomy to design and conduct their written examinations. However, they are advised to follow the national pattern, comprising of MAT, and SAT. MAT is consisted of 50 multiple choice type questions and is to be attempted by all the candidates. SAT consists of150 multiple choice type questions on eight different subjects are as namely Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, History, Geography, Civics and Economics. The exam procedure is divided into two phases Stage-I and Stage-II. The exam pattern of NTSE for both the stages is separate. The Stage-I of the selection process is to be given to the respective State or Union Territory. Stage-I follows a test format, which consists of Part 1 and Part 2.

The students seeking to appear in this1 scholarship exam must have a quick view of the NTSE exam pattern to gain knowledge of the test format. Candidates will get to know about a total number of questions, sections, marking scheme and total duration of the paper. There is no definitive syllabus for NTSE exam at any of the stages.

NTSE Exam Pattern:

Scroll down to check the NTSE exam pattern for both the stages –

NTSE Exam Pattern for Stage-I

The Stage-I is to be conducted at State/UT level by the concerned authorities of State/UT. The candidates have to solve the exam pattern in either English or Hindi medium. For each correct answer, you will be awarded one mark, and negative marking is not applicable at this stage. The paper is divided into two parts.Total duration allotted for Stage-I is 90 minutes.

Part 1– Mental Ability test (MAT): This section contains logical and analytical reasoning based questions. Through this section, candidate’s ability to think, reasoning, evaluate, discriminate and visualizeis examined. Under this section, a total of 50 questions needed to be answered. Questions will be asked from classifications, analogies, pattern perception, hidden figures, coding-decoding, problem-solving etc.

Part 2 – Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT): This part consists of 150 questions from Mathematics, Language, Science, and Social science. The section is designed to judge the aspirant’s interpretation, reading abilities, general awareness and evaluation of the subjects.

NTSE Exam Pattern for Stage II

The Stage-II is to be held by NCERT at a National Level. Only shortlisted students from State-level exam can appear in this stage to compete for the scholarship. This paper is divided into two parts, i.e., SAT and MAT, as that of Stage-I. However, unlike the 1st Stage, a negative marking of 1/3 marks is applicable for every wrong answer marked by the candidate. Candidates will get 135 minutes to complete their paper.

NTSE is not only a prestigious but also one of the toughest scholarship exams in the country. With thousands of candidates applying trans-nationally, cracking the exam and securing a scholarship is quite difficult. A proper guiding is sure to help you for the exam. Toppr, NEET GURU and Exam Prep are some of the renowned educational apps offering tips for NTSE all over India.

Leave a Reply